Quan Am Temple
Mahayana Buddhist Practice
Four Noble Truths

1.  There is suffering
2.  There is an origin of suffering.
3.  One can be free of suffering.  There is cessation of suffering.
4.  The way to be free of suffering, the way to freedom, is to follow the Eight-Fold Path.

This is the noble truth of suffering:
birth is suffering, aging is suffering, illness is suffering, death is suffering; sorrow, lamentation, pain, grief and despair are suffering; union with what is displeasing is suffering; separation from what is pleasing is suffering; not to get what one wants is suffering; in brief, the five aggregates subject to clinging are suffering.

This is the noble truth of the origin of suffering: it is this
craving which leads to renewed existence, accompanied by delight and lust, seeking delight here and there, that is, craving for sensual pleasures, craving for existence, craving for extermination.

This is the noble truth of the cessation of suffering: it is the remainderless fading away and cessation of that same craving, the giving up and relinquishing of it, freedom from it, nonreliance on it.

This is the noble truth of the way leading to the cessation of suffering: it is the
Noble Eightfold Path; that is, right view, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness and right concentration.

Fund Raising Efforts
Information for Newcomers
Temple History
Four Noble Truths
The Noble Eight-Fold Path
Buddhist Symbols
Meditation Overview
Meditation Training
Mindfulness Training
Current Reading Blog
Image Gallery
Favorite Links